

## **Land Acknowledgement Statement**

Although we gather here virtually, we acknowledge that the land where we work and gather is the traditional unceded territories of the Indigenous nations who have lived on these lands since time immemorial.

## **Board of Directors Post-Annual Meeting Minutes**

June 28, 2022 (following the Annual Meeting)

**Present:** Tom Baumgartner, Stephen Bird, Cynthia Carver, Maddy Dever, Carole Devine, Nick Dibdin, Jean Dunning, William Enright, Miriam Hunt, David Moat, Sharon Mousseau, Kim O'Connor

**Staff:** Sarah Sark, Kara Symbolic, Becky Walker (resource)

Regrets: Tambrae Knapp

- **1.0 Welcome to new Board members:** Tom chaired the first part of the meeting; he confirmed quorum, read the land acknowledgement and extended a special welcome to new Board members.
- **2.0** Approval of agenda: The agenda was approved as presented.
  - 2.1 Conflict of interest: No conflict of interest declared; Tom reminded Board members that a conflict could be declared at any point in the meeting.
- **3.0 Approval of Board minutes from June 21, 2022:** Minutes unavailable at this time; deferred to the next Board meeting.
- **4.0 Signing of Director Code of Conduct and Pledge:** Tom reminded Board members to sign and return the code of conduct and pledge document to Becky at their earliest convenience.
- **5.0 Election of Executive Officers:** The slate of Executive Officers recommended by the Nominating Committee was presented:

**Chair: Jean Dunning** 

Vice Chair: William Enright

Secretary/Treasurer: Kim O'Connor

**Past Chair: Tom Baumgartner** 

The Board approved the slate of candidates for the Executive.

Following the election of Executive Officers, Tom handed chairing duties over to Jean.



## 6.0 Signing Authority for Cheques:

- Current staff signing authorities: Sarah Sark, Carol Anne McNeil, Amy Vanderspank, Ray Kamm
- Current Board signing authorities: Tom Baumgartner, Deborah Duffy, Kim O'Connor
- Recommended change to Board signing authorities: remove Deborah Duffy; add Jean Dunning
  The Board approved the recommended signing authorities: Sarah Sark, Carol Anne McNeil, Amy
  Vanderspank, Ray Kamm, Tom Baumgartner, Jean Dunning, and Kim O'Connor.
- **7.0 Date and time of Board orientation sessions:** To be determined. The Governance Committee will meet during the summer to coordinate orientation sessions.
- **8.0** Time of Board meetings and type (Zoom, in-person, hybrid): A discussion took place on different meeting options. It was determined that the Governance Committee would consider these suggestions and bring a recommendation to the Board.
- **9.0 Strategic Plan update:** Cynthia provided a brief update on strategic planning. A draft request for proposal has circulated and is being edited, with the hope that it will go out shortly.
- 10.0 Accreditation update: Sarah informed the group that Jane Page-Brown has agreed to act as consultant for accreditation, with work starting on phase one this week. Jane will work with Becky to set up a schedule and process, and can be available at later phases to assist with other administrative work.
- **11.0 Date and time of next Board meeting:** September 27, 2022 @ 3:00 p.m. (staff presentation at 2:30 p.m. Board attendance is voluntary). The Board discussed the time and date for meetings, and all agreed that the current schedule (fourth Tuesday of the month; staff presentation at 2:30 and Board meeting at 3:00) should continue.

Respectfully submitted,

gean Durning

Jean Dunning Board Chair