

Land Acknowledgement Statement

We acknowledge that the land where we work and gather is the traditional unceded territories of the Indigenous nations who have lived on these lands since time immemorial. In particular, we acknowledge the Anishnaabeg (Ah-nish-in-a-bek), Huron-Wendat, Haudenosaunee (Ho-den-no-show-nee), Oneida, and Algonquin peoples. We are grateful to live and work on this land, and to work in allyship with Indigenous communities. Let us learn from the Indigenous caretakers of this land about the sacred relationships and responsibilities that we have to each other and to these beautiful lands that give us what we need to live a healthy life.

Board of Directors Post-Annual Meeting Minutes

June 27, 2023 (following the Annual Meeting)

30 Bennett St., Carleton Place

Present (in person): Tom Baumgartner, Bruce Brough, Carole Devine, Nick Dibdin, Jean Dunning, Kim Groskleg, Kim O'Connor, Jan Paul-Barr, Mary Lou Pratt, Lesley Scharf

Present (online): Miriam Hunt, David Moat

Staff: Sarah Sark, Becky Walker (resource)

Regrets: Tambrae Knapp

- **1.0 Welcome to new Board members:** Jean confirmed quorum, read the land acknowledgement statement, and extended a special welcome to new Board members.
- **2.0** Approval of agenda: The agenda was approved as presented. No conflict of interest declared.
- **3.0** Approval of Board minutes from June 19, 2023: The minutes were approved as presented.
- 4.0 Signing of Director Code of Conduct and Pledge: Jean asked Board members in attendance to sign and return the code of conduct to Becky before leaving. Becky will connect with remaining members to get signed pledges.
- **5.0 Election of Executive Officers:** The slate of Executive Officers recommended by the Nominating Committee was presented:

Chair: Jean Dunning Vice Chair: Nick Dibdin

Secretary/Treasurer: Kim O'Connor **Past Chair:** Tom Baumgartner

The Board approved the slate of candidates for the Executive.



6.0 Signing Authority for Cheques:

- Current staff signing authorities: Sarah Sark, Carol Anne McNeil, Amy Vanderspank, Ray Kamm
- Current Board signing authorities: Tom Baumgartner, Jean Dunning, Kim O'Connor No changes required; the Board approved the recommended signing authorities.
- 7.0 Date and time of Board orientation sessions: To be determined; the Governance Committee will meet in July to coordinate. Tom confirmed that there will be 3-4 sessions held virtually via Zoom.
 Board members confirmed they would be available in late August for the first session.
- 8.0 Board meeting schedule for 2023-24 (day, time, location): The Board agreed to hold meetings on the fourth Tuesday of the month (no meetings scheduled for December, July, or August). Program presentations will start at 3:00 and the Board meeting will start at 3:30. In-person meetings will return in the fall, with locations rotating through the three main sites (meetings to be held virtually during the winter).
- 9.0 New Business: Sarah presented an update on the Food for Thought grant and partnership. The Board approved Sarah signing the memorandum of understanding with The Hastings and Prince Edward Learning Foundation to sponsor the Student Nutrition Program. The start date for this agreement will be August 1, 2023.
- **10.0 Date, time, and location of next Board meeting:** In the Jordan Room at the Lanark CHC on September 26, 2023. Program presentation starts at 3:00, Board meeting starts at 3:30.
- **11.0** Adjournment: Jean thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 5:02 p.m.