

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING June 25, 2024 @ 3:00 p.m. 30 Bennett Street, Carleton Place and via Zoom

# **MINUTES**

Land Acknowledgement Statement:

We acknowledge that the land where we work and gather is the traditional unceded territories of the Indigenous nations who have lived on these lands since time immemorial. In particular, we acknowledge the Anishnaabeg (Ah-nish-in-a-bek), Huron-Wendat, Haudenosaunee (Ho-den-no-show-nee), Oneida, and Algonquin peoples. We are grateful to live and work on this land, and to work in allyship with Indigenous communities. Let us learn from the Indigenous caretakers of this land about the sacred relationships and responsibilities that we have to each other and to these beautiful lands that give us what we need to live a healthy life.

**Members present in person:** Tom Baumgartner, Stephen Bird, Bruce Brough, Carole Devine, Nick Dibdin, Barbara Drake, Chris Hicks, Miriam Hunt, Nic Maennling, Kim O'Connor, Jan Paul-Barr, Mary Lou Pratt, Jim Reain, Barb Sangster (on Zoom), Colin Sangster (on Zoom), Lesley Scharf, Wayne Stryde, Gerry Van Loon, Michel Vermette

**Staff present:** Jude Anuebunwa, Chelsea Campbell (on Zoom), Kirsty Chase, Emily Duberville, Pam Fergusson (on Zoom), Emily Frizell (on Zoom), Leigh Gibson, June Hall, Wilma Lee, Nicole Murray, Julie Paterson, Brenda Powers-Ross, Sarah Sark, Corrie Stewart, Kara Symbolic (on Zoom), Becky Walker

Guests present: Nicky Derlin, Lori Huber (on Zoom), Gerry Lee, Calvin Neufeld (on Zoom)

#### 1.0 Welcome and Introductions

Board Chair Jean Dunning welcomed everyone, called the meeting to order, and read the land acknowledgement statement.

- 1.1 **Establishment of quorum for meeting:** Jean called on Becky Walker, who confirmed that the number of members in attendance satisfied the requirement for quorum as per By Law #1.
- 1.2 **Appointment of Scrutineers:** Leigh Gibson and Corrie Stewart offered to act as scrutineers for the meeting.
- 1.3 Introduction of ConnectWell Community Health Board members: Jean Dunning (Chair) introduced herself and the other Board members present: Nick Dibdin (Vice Chair), Kim O'Connor (Secretary/Treasurer), Tom Baumgartner (Past Chair), Bruce Brough, Carole Devine, Miriam Hunt, Jan Paul Barr, Mary Lou Pratt, and Lesley Scharf. She also introduced absent Board members Kim Groskleg, Tambrae Knapp, and David Moat.

# 2.0 Approval of agenda

The agenda was sent to the membership on May 24, 2024. There were no suggested changes to the agenda.

# Motion: On behalf of the Board of Directors, Jean Dunning moved that the agenda for the 2024 Annual Meeting be accepted as circulated.

Seconded by: Wayne Stryde Any discussion: None Decision: Motion carried

## 3.0 Approval of minutes from the June 27, 2023, Annual Meeting

The minutes of June 27, 2023, were sent to the membership on June 18, 2024. There were no suggested changes or amendments to the minutes.

Motion: On behalf of the Board of Directors, Jean Dunning moved that the minutes of the June 27, 2023, Annual General Meeting be accepted as circulated.

Seconded by: Stephen Bird Any discussion: None Decision: Motion carried

4.0 Guest Speaker Calvin Neufeld: Jean introduced speaker Calvin Neufeld. An independent speaker, writer, social justice advocate, and trans man, Calvin shared his experiences and reflections on diversity, equity, justice, and wellness, as well as how we can foster courageous conversations on these themes and contribute to breaking down barriers, big and small. Following Calvin's presentation, Jean thanked him for his insightful talk and recommendations on how ConnectWell can work towards inclusion and health equity in our communities.

## 5.0 Auditor's Report

Kim O'Connor introduced Lori Huber, auditor representing KPMG (formerly Allan & Partners LLP Chartered Professional Accountants), who presented the auditor's report and reviewed the audited financial statements. She reviewed the audit process and highlights from the report. She thanked the Finance Team for their hard work and support through another successful audit. There were no questions from the membership.

## 6.0 Staff and Board Recognition for Years of Service

ConnectWell CEO Sarah Sark and Board Chair Jean Dunning recognized staff members for their years of service:

## 25 YEARS:

• Wilma Lee: Receptionist/Property Manager

#### 20 YEARS:

- Amy Vanderspank: Director of Corporate Services
- Joanne Bond: Autism Therapist
- Brenda Powers Ross: Director of Renfrew Sites
- June Hall: Medical Secretary

#### **15 YEARS:**

- Amanda Maloney: Coordinator
- Tricia Mackay: Nurse Practitioner
- Mike Shane: Finance Coordinator

#### 10 YEARS:

- Katie Tedford: Autism Therapist
- Jane Coyle: Director of Mental Health Services and Connections

#### **RETIREMENTS:**

- Carol Anne McNeil: Director of Respite Services (41 years)
- Ray Kamm: Finance Officer (20 years)
- Doreen Schroeder: Medical Receptionist (17 years)

Jean Dunning introduced Board members who are leaving (or who have left this year) and paid tribute on behalf of the organization:

- Kim Groskleg: 1 year of service
- Tambrae Knapp: 2 years of service
- David Moat: 2 years of service
- Kim O'Connor: 6 years of service
- 7.0 **Report from the Chair:** Jean Dunning provided a verbal report.
- 8.0 **Report from the Chief Executive Officer:** Sarah Sark provided a verbal report.

#### 9.0 Committee Reports

## 9.1 Governance Committee

Tom Baumgartner presented the Governance Committee Annual Report.

## 9.2 Nominating Committee

Jean Dunning presented the Nominating Committee report. Tom Baumgartner introduced the slate of candidates for Board member positions:

Stephen Bird: 1-year term

Wayne Stryde: 1<sup>st</sup> 3-year term

Gerry van Loon: 1<sup>st</sup> 3-year term

Michel Vermette: 1<sup>st</sup> 3-year term

Jean Dunning: 2<sup>nd</sup> 3-year term

Upon introducing the candidates, Tom to make the following motion:

Motion: On behalf of the Board of Directors, Tom moved that the candidates in the slate proposed by the Board be elected as Directors for the terms as outlined.

Seconded by: Lesley Scharf

Any discussion: None

Decision: Motion carried

# 9.3 Finance Committee

Kim O'Connor presented the Finance Committee report and made the following motion:

Motion: On behalf of the Board of Directors, Kim moved that the firm of KPMG be appointed as auditors for the fiscal year 2024-2025 at a fee to be established by the Board.

Seconded by: Bruce Brough Any discussion: None Decision: Motion carried

# 9.4 Planning & Review Committee

Carole Devine presented the Planning & Review Committee Annual Report and shared that the committee would be renamed the Quality, Review, and Strategic Planning (QRS) Committee. Terms of Reference for the new committee have been approved by the Board.

# 9.5 **Renfrew County Healthier Community Committee**

Miriam Hunt presented the Renfrew County Healthier Community Committee Annual Report. Moving forward, the committee has been renamed the Advocacy Committee with a mandate that is organization wide. Terms of Reference for this committee have been approved by the Board.

## 9.6 North Lanark Joint Planning Committee

Jean Dunning presented the North Lanark Joint Planning Committee Annual Report and noted that no meetings took place during this fiscal year.

#### 10.0 Adjournment of AGM

Jean Dunning thanked everyone for attending and made a motion that the Annual Meeting of ConnectWell Community Health be adjourned at 4:18 p.m. She invited guests to remain and socialize while the Board retired for its post-Annual Meeting meeting. Decision: Motion carried